Association for Asian Studies Book Prizes awarded to Ksenia Chizhova (Korea) and Dora Ching (Chinese Art History)

Feb. 21, 2023

The AAS is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s prize competitions and offer congratulations to all honorees.

Bei Shan Tang Catalogue Prize (Chinese Art History)
This award honors an outstanding and innovative sole-authored monograph on Chinese art history of any historical period published in the English language. 

Dora C.Y. ChingVisualizing Dunhuang: The Lo Archive Photographs of the Mogao and Yulin Caves (Princeton University Press)

James B. Palais Prize (Korea)
The James B. Palais Prize of the Association for Asian Studies was initiated by the Palais Prize committee headed by AAS President Robert Buswell in 2008-09. The Palais Prize is given annually to an outstanding scholar of Korean studies from any discipline or country specialization to recognize distinguished scholarly work on Korea.

Honorable Mention: Ksenia ChizhovaKinship Novels of Early Modern Korea: Between Genealogical Time and the Domestic Everyday (Columbia University Press)